A Happy and Thankful Life



Anne Shirley

The Google Doodle today reminded me of one of my favorite book series as a young girl, Anne of Green Gables. There are three animations and one included Anne walking across a bridge by herself, followed by an older Anne running with Diana, and ended with Gilbert and Anne rowing across the pond.

I can’t quite remember what it was that I clicked with as a 5th or 6th grader. My Grandma bought me the books. I spent hours reading and rereading them. Maybe it was Anne’s love of adventure and Diana’s voice of reason.

I pulled up quotes on Goodreads and as I read through them, they connected with me…not through the lens of a child remembering the books but as an adult having lived through life changes, everlasting friendships, love, and loss.

These are taken from Goodreads:
– “There is no use in loving things if you have to be torn from them, is there? And it’s so hard to keep from loving things, isn’t it?”
– “It’s been my experience that you can nearly always enjoy things if you make up your mind firmly that you will.”
– “Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?”
– “Isn’t it splendid to think of all the things there are to find out about? It just makes me feel glad to be alive–it’s such an interesting world”
– “I went looking for my dreams outside of myself and discovered, it’s not what the world holds for you, it’s what you bring to it.”
– “I’m not a bit changed–not really. I’m only just pruned down and branched out. The real ME–back here–is just the same.”
– “Anne always remembered the silvery, peaceful beauty and fragrant calm of that night. It was the last night before sorrow touched her life; and no life is ever quite the same again when once that cold, sanctifying touch has been laid upon it.”
– “When I left Queen’s my future seemed to stretch out before me like a straight road. I thought I could see along it for many a milestone. Now there is a bend in it. I don’t know what lies around the bend, but I’m going to believe that the best does.”

Oh, I can go on and on. I think I shall pull my books out and read them again. It will be like reuniting with an old kindred spirit.

 

Thoughts?

