A Happy and Thankful Life



Returning to the written word

I’ve been debating about whether or not to return to writing. The past few months have been challenging. I’ve lost my focus and need to recenter myself, place myself as a priority instead of an afterthought. I’ve decided to get my thoughts out of my head and write. Focusing on things to be grateful for each day. What a weekend to jump back in to this.

It’s been a rough one for me. Two days ago, I lost an earring. It couldn’t be the silly dinosaur earrings I wore for my event. No, it was one of the earrings that I was given by the man I loved on the day we were married…six years and one day ago. My heart aches. I know it is just an earring. But it’s one of four pieces of jewelry that he gave me that remind me that I was loved. They make me happy. My heart aches that it is lost. Many tears have been shed. Again, just an earring but it means so much more.

I’ve spent hours searching. Kind friends and coworkers have spent their own time searching. It hasn’t been found. I’ve reached out to a group that searches for such things with metal detectors.  In just a few hours, I received three emails from strangers that are willing to help me. I don’t know if this will find my earring. But this is my last chance to find it.

This not so ideal situation is a gentle reminder that people want to help. I’m stubborn and refuse to ask for help. I don’t want to bother others, especially when there are always more important things happening.  I’m thankful for my friends and strangers that are willing to help me find this earring. It is very humbling.

Thoughts?

