A Happy and Thankful Life



Hard. Our closets. Signs.

There has been a powerful TEDx talk shared online this past week. It is about realizing that everyone has something in the closet that needs to come out, that needs to be said. It is hard. Everyone’s hard is different but it’s still hard. If you haven’t seen it yet, please take 10 minutes to watch it now. I’ll wait.

This hits home for me and maybe for you as well. Why do we compare what we are going through with what others are going through? It’s not going to end well. I remember sitting in a holiday grief program and I was starting to compare my pain with others. I had to stop myself – I didn’t know their story and they didn’t know mine. What we were all going through is hard. But we were doing our best to get out of the closet and seek help and support.

That leads to an article that someone had shared in my blog reader. The article is about reading signs. What if we wore signs that identified our battles, our struggles? How would that change our perception and attitude with someone? Would we be more patient, more understanding? Why must we know their sign in order to be kind to others?

One thing that carries on in me is being told by our group grief to be gentle with ourselves. More than once, she had said it to me. It is something I struggle with as I hold myself up to these ridiculous high standards. When I relax, give myself a break, and am gentle – I know that I handle things better in the long run. But her article was about being gentle with others as well.

We don’t know the whole story for those that we work with, live near, and even those we call friends and family. We may never know. Now, I will be the first to admit that when you are going through something so hard that you can’t see the light around the closet door, you might not be able to support those around you. However, we can still be kind and gentle when we see someone is struggling. We can assume that the person has positive intent…and sometimes that choice is because they feel desperate and don’t see another choice. We can be there for one another.

Thoughts?

