A Happy and Thankful Life



Look back and make yourself a priority

I’m thankful that the company I work for values professional development. Often, that professional development has a positive impact on personal development as well.

During the past year, a few of the PD sessions I’ve attended have encouraged me to make myself a priority. If I’m not at my best, if

I’m not taking care of myself, how can I take care of others? After years of putting others first, which was a choice I willingly made, it’s not selfish to start taking care of myself. I’m slowly working on that. It is hard to break years of habit! I’m taking small steps and after the PD session today, I’m encouraged to get back on that track.

At the end of today’s session, there was a quote regarding rushing through life. There is always in the heart of man the temptation to accelerate the march of destiny – Ravi Zacharias
My intereptation is that we are always looking forward to the next thing. We sometimes miss living in the moment and of truly appreciating the journey. If we look back at where we were, we can better appreciate how far we’ve come.

This is something I struggle with…I sometimes focus on where I wanted to be, or where society thinks I should be in my life. I think that I should meet societies expectations that I get over my grief already. But I remind myself of how far I have come. I’m self-sufficent, independent (often to a fault), and I have a job that I love. I’m not like the person I was terrified I would be like or have her life. I’ve made different choices. My closest friends are loving, patient and kind – and far more than I deserve.

As for my grief, I have come a long way in the last year and a half. The pain is different – it’s no longer a 100% heart-wrenching, breathe stealing ride. By focusing on just trying to get through it, I’m missing how far I’ve come. I’ve learned more about myself  and so much about the grief process. It may seem morbid but I want to encourage more discussion about grief – it is far healthier to talk about it than to sweep it under the rug. If I can provide support, information or resources for others that lost a loved one, there has been some value to this entire horrible situation.

Today, I was reminded and encouraged. It is okay to take care of myself. Have goals but appreciate the journey. Take time to pause and live in the moment. Acknowledge how far I’ve come. I am worth it. You are worth it.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Anonymous says:

    Time slowly heals us god bless. R. Hall

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 3 months ago


Thoughts?

