A Happy and Thankful Life



catching up

I’m thankful that I was able to spend so much time with my kind friends in May. They allowed me to live in the now and not the past or grief.

As I get closer to the one year mark, I’m thankful that I pulled back on my blogging last year. Reading the emails I sent to family and the few posts I wrote brought me right back to the intense pain I felt at the time. The survival instinct that surrounded so many of my actions.

Yesterday I realized that it had been a year since John’s dad arrived to be there for him and to help support me. Things happened quickly after that. I posted a stream of thoughts on John’s Facebook page. I’m thankful for the kind words and support that were left. We are not alone in missing him.

I’m thankful that I decided to take the time to get my hair trimmed. Have 1-2 inches gone make for a new and lighter feeling after such an emotional evening.

I’m thankful for the opportunity to surprise my oldest nephew this coming Friday. For different reasons, we both need an escape from normal life and the chance to scream at the top of our lungs. I can’t imagine a better place to do that than on a roller coaster.

I’m thankful that while the spoken word often falls me, I can still get my thoughts out in writing.

Thoughts?

