A Happy and Thankful Life



The eyes have it

“Your eyes have improved!”

I never dreamed that I would ever hear this. I never thought that hearing improvement about my eyes would even be possible. But I heard that today and I’m estatic!

About ten years ago, an ophthalmologist told me that if I didn’t get my glaucoma under control, I could start losing my eyesight and become blind in my thirties. That was a very sobering statement for me. It was terrifying.

I first got glasses when I was in 4th grade. Without my glasses or contacts, I only see shadows a foot away from my face. In middle school, high pressures during an exam led to multiple visit and tests at the local univeristy’s hospital. They determined that I had glaucoma and should just monitor it. Which we did until I started having issues in college with my eyes. That is when the ophthalmologist said it was serious. But I accepted that fact and tried to be a good patient. I took my eye drops while I had insurance and made my yearly exams with both my optometrist and ophthalmologist. I made sure that I didn’t take or do anything that could increase my pressures. I was in fear during my first field vision test. I was concerned but I knew that glaucoma was not something that happened quickly and I would have time to delay progression.

With new insurance and new city, I was directed to a new opthalmologist. They repeated many of the tests that I had 12 years previously and added a few new ones. One of those tests would great change things. There was a new test that measured the corneal thickness. Did you know that the everyone’s cornea isn’t the same thickness? The number from the pressure reading is how much pressure it takes to flatten your cornea. Here’s how it was explained to me: If if takes a lot of pressure to flatten your cornea, more than the normal range, then you were considered to be at risk for glaucoma. If you have a thicker cornea, it will take more pressure to flatten which can cause a false high reading. If you have a thinner cornea, it takes less pressure to flatten your cornea and a reading within the normal range may actually be too high.

I found out that day that I have thicker corneas. When my IOP readings were adjusted to account for that, I was in the high normal range. Because I had no damage to my optical nerve, I am now considered glaucoma-suspect and just need to have periodic tests to monitor. Since I had that great news, I  haven’t missed a check-up with the optometrist but have slacked off on my periodic tests. I am determined to get checked again within the next few months. Our eyes are precious and

Thoughts?

