A Happy and Thankful Life



“find the other side of someday”

I find myself having an all or nothing relationship with music. In the morning, I wake up and turn on the tv to VH1 to have music in the background while getting ready for work. But on the way to and from work, I listen to talk radio. When I’m in the car, my thoughts get carried away. It’s not so bad when it’s just news. Music is different. I find myself listening to lyrics and associating it to my life. When my mom passed away, a song was released a few months later that I couldn’t hear without crying. The same thing is happening now.

This morning, I watched a new Sara Bareilles video. It’s for “Gonna Get Over You”.  Take a moment to watch; it is a fun video. They are all far more coordinated than I am!

Even thought the song is about a break up, a few of the lyrics stood out to me.

I’ve got a thick tongue,
Brimming with the words that go unsung

And I’m not the girl that I intend to be,
I dare you darling, just you wait and see
But this time not for you but just for me,
And I say
Ooh, how’m I gonna get over you?
I’ll be alright, just not tonight
Someday, oh I wish you’d want me to stay
I’ll be alright, just not tonight,
Someday (someday)

I’ll be alright once I find the other side of someday

 I didn’t intend to post almost the entire lyrics but the one line that keeps coming back to me is: I’ll be alright once I find the other side of someday.  There are moments when I feel as though I’m being told something that my heart and mind need to hear desperately. This morning was one of those times. As silly as it may seem, this break-up song brought me a lighter heart today. As I’ve written before, I know from reading other widow blogs, that things do get better. It’s a long hard road. But it does get easier. And the more that I tell myself that and write that, the closer I am to actually believing it.

Thoughts?

