A Happy and Thankful Life



laugh or cry?

I don’t know whether to laugh or cry.  I came home from work today and found J’s good luck chemo bear in the hallway. That is not where I left it this morning. It was on my bed with my stuffed cow that J gave me when we first started dating. The one paw was wet which meant that the cat had dragged it into the hallway.

This cat started a strange behavior a few weeks ago. It started with a small bear that was part of a gift for J when he was first diagnosed. I put it away and gave her two stuffed toys to play with. I thought that solved the problem.

As you can see below, she enjoys carrying around stuffed animals. This is a stuffed snowman dog toy that she plays with. The poor image quality is thanks to a camera phone and fast moving cat.

Sassy & snowman - personal photo

 
After seeing the bear in the hallway, I put it back on the bed. A few hours later, Sassy stumbles in dragging the bear along with her. I honestly didn’t know whether to laugh or cry. I took the bear from her as she looked confused. About 30 minutes later, she jumped up next to me and grabbed the bear’s paw and dragged it onto the floor and started to walk away with it. I was shocked and decided to see what she would do with it. Other than dragging it around and rolling with it, she didn’t hurt the bear.
 
See the ratio between the 9lb cat and stuffed animal? She was dragging it with her mouth.

Sassy & Good Luck Chemo Bear - personal photo

 
 However, I can’t let her continue with this bear. I bought Good Luck Chemo bear when J was going through his second round of chemo when he was first diagnosed in 2008. I called it his Good Luck Chemo bear and the name stuck. It was with J during every hospital overnight stay. When he was home, the bear was in the bedroom kept up and away from harm. This bear was our mascot. Now it lives on the bed with my cow. It’s not the same but I’m making it work.
 
Which brings me to what I’m thankful for. I’m thankful for kind words, humor and advice when I’m at a loss as to what to do. A friend sent me a message with some advice and tips that I’m going to test with Sassy. It can’t hurt, right?
Thoughts?

