A Happy and Thankful Life



the secret to kitten happiness

Yesterday, I thought I had discovered the secret to my kitten’s happiness.  I wanted to confirm my theory today. Lately, I’ve noticed that on the weekends, she is playful but calm and lovable. However, during the week after work, she is a spaz and terror. She runs through the apartment and leaps at the walls. Sassy is able to hit the door at a mark that is taller than me. These days have me calling her “rotten” far more often than I care to admit.

During the last few months, I’ve worked longer hours at work which have had me away from the apartment for an average of 10-13 hours a day. On the days that I work a normal work day, I’m gone for 9 hours. I started noticing a difference in her behavior depending on how long I was gone. She is far worse when I’m gone for longer than 9-10 hours. It is as though she is acting out and punishing me for leaving her. Today, I worked a normal day and she has been playing with her feather ball in between sleeping on the couch next to me.

A few friends have said that I should get her a friend. I have a strong feeling towards not being outnumbered bu pets. A one to one ratio is what is happening in this home now. Plus, the lady from the rescue where we adopted her from said that Sassy was a very different kitten when around other cats. She was far more active and outgoing when alone than with other cats. I love her personality and not want to upset her by bringing in another pet.

I think this realization will help me in making sure that I’m working normal hours; not just for her happiness but also for mine. If she was a few years older, I wouldn’t be as concerned. But she will only be a year old at the end of this month.  I will be leaving town for six days for an upcoming conference. I’ve been debating whether to ask someone to stop in to feed her or to just board her. After this realization, I think the best option for her will be for me to board her. She will be around other people and won’t have an entire empty apartment to herself. As she gets older, I’ll reconsider but for now, this is what I have to do.

I enjoy her social, playful and talkative nature and don’t want lots of solo time to be detrimental to her behavior. Yes, I realize that I’m talking about a pet this way. In my experience, considering the pet’s personality and happiness is important to how they develop and adjust to life as they age. It’s worked for me with past pets, why mess with it now? She was J’s kitten. We didn’t know at the time what would happen, but J picked her and she has become important to me. I can ignore my own health and work longer hours but I can’t continue to do so as it has an effect on my pet. I’m okay with that and thankful that I’ve realized what makes for a happier kitten in my home.

Thoughts?

